Digital Criticism

Unconference vom 21. Oktober 2021 bis 22. Oktober 2021 📅

Konzept

Einführung

Forscher*innen aus Schweizer Universitäten und wissenschaftlichen Institutionen laden alle Interessierten herzlich zur ersten Unkonferenz «Digitale Kritik» ein. Offen und ohne Teilnahmegebühren wird dieser einzigartige Anlass am 21. und 22. Oktober 2021 online durchgeführt.

Nach mehr als einer Dekade an Diskussionen zum digital turn und dem damit verbundenen Einfluss auf Forschung und Gesellschaft als Ganzes wollen wir Raum und Möglichkeiten zur Reflexion und zur Bildung von Netzwerken schaffen. Wir wollen Forschungsresultate und zukünftige Trends im Bereich der digital studies und den digital humanities mit Wissenschaftler*innen aus der Schweiz und darüber hinaus diskutieren. Registrieren Sie sich jetzt für den Anlass!

Ziele

  • Bildung eines internationalen Netzwerks für die Forschungscommunity im Bereich der digital studies / digital humanities
  • Austausch über aktuelle Themen und die eigene Forschung
  • zukünftige transdisziplinäre Herausforderungen identifizieren und gemeinsam angehen
  • Die Charakteristika digitaler Forschungsmethoden diskutieren und einordnen

Was ist eine Unkonferenz?

Eine Unkonferenz ist eine informelle, participant-driven Veranstaltung, die versucht die hierarchischen Aspekte herkömmlicher Konferenzen zu vermeiden. Das Format fördert die Bildung von Netzwerken, offenen Diskussionen und die aktive Teilnahme. Entstanden ist das Formt in den 2000er Jahren im Silicon Valley, um innovative Ideen zu diskutieren und zu entwickeln. Unkonferenzen hoben Social Media und das «Web 2.0» aus der Taufe.

Eine Unkonferenz läuft folgendermassen ab:

  1. Registrierung für die Konferenz
  2. Die Teilnehmer*innen werden zu Beginn in einer gemeinsamen Session aufgefordert, eigene Ideen und Diskussionsvorschläge vorzubringen
  3. Alle Themenvorschläge werden gesammelt. Anschliessend wird darüber abgestimmt, welche Themen in Form von Panels diskutiert werden
  4. Die gewählten Themen werden in 45 minütigen Slots eingeteilt. Ein finalisiertes Programm wird vorgestellt
  5. Die Teilnehmer*innen wählen frei, welche Panels sie besuchen und wie sie sich einbringen
⇧ Zurück

Programm

Das Programm beinhaltet zwei gemeinsame Sitzungen, drei Keynotes von führenden Wissenschaftlerinnen aus dem Bereich der digital studies sowie drei parallele Panelsessions zu Themen, die die Teilnehmerinnen selbst vorgeschlagen und ausgewählt haben.

21. Oktober 22. Oktober
08:45 Einführung in BigBlueButton
durch geführt von CH-Open
09:30 Einführung durch die Organisierenden
Willkommensworte von Dr. Markus Zürcher
Start zum zweiten Tag
10:00 Pitching-Session Vierte Panelsession
11:00 Keynote von Nathalie Pignard Cheynel
Wahl der Panels
Keynote von Dominique Cardon
12:00 Programmvorstellung und Mittagspause Fünfte Panelsession
13:30 Erste Panelsession Präsentation der Resultate und Ausblick
14:15 Pause Table-Ronde zum Abschluss
15:00 Zweite Panelsession
15:45 Dritte Panelsession
16:30 Pause
17:00 Keynote von Mar Hicks

Keynotes

Mar Hicks (Illinois Institute of Technology)

Mar Hicks (Illinois Institute of Technology)

Mar Hicks ist Autorin, Historikerin und Professorin und forscht zu den Themen Computergeschichte, Arbeit, Technologie sowie Queer Science and Technology Studies. Ihre Forschung konzentriert sich darauf, wie Geschlecht und Sexualität verborgene technologische Dynamiken ans Licht bringen und wie die Erfahrungen von Frauen und LGBTQIA-Personen die zentralen Erzählungen der Computergeschichte auf unerwartete Weise verändern. Hicks’ mehrfach preisgekröntes Buch ”Programmed Inequality” (Programmierte Ungleichheit) befasst sich mit der Frage, wie die Brit*innen ihre frühe Führungsposition im Bereich der Informatik verloren haben, indem sie weibliche Computerfachkräfte ausschlossen, und was uns diese warnende Geschichte über aktuelle Probleme im Hightech-Bereich verrät. Ihr neues Werk befasst sich mit Widerstand und Queerness in der Geschichte der Technologie. Im Frühjahr 2021 erschien bei MIT Press ein Sammelband mit dem Titel ”Your Computer Is On Fire”, in dem es darum geht, wie wir unsere kaputten Hightech-Infrastrukturen reparieren können. Lesen Sie mehr unter: marhicks.com.

Dominique Cardon (Media Lab Science Po)

Dominique Cardon (Media Lab Science Po)

Dominique Cardon, geboren 1965, ist Soziologe, Forscher, Professor und seit 2016 Direktor des Medialab an der Sciences Po. Er war von 1996 bis 2016 Mitglied des Forschungszentrums Orange Labs und ausserordentlicher Professor am Technischen Labor der Universität Marne la Vallée, wo er 2015 auch seine Dissertation “Der erweiterte öffentliche Raum. Meinung, Kritik und Ausdruckskraft im Internetzeitalter” (“L’espace public élargi. Opinion, critique et expressivité à l’ère d’internet”) im Jahr 2015 verteidigte. Als ehemaliges Mitglied des Zentrums für Studien über soziale Bewegungen an der EHESS und Mitglied des Redaktionsausschusses der Zeitschrift “Réseaux” konzentrierte er sich in seiner Arbeit und Forschung zunächst auf verschiedene Ausdrucksformen in traditionellen Medien. Anschließend beschäftigte er sich mit der Nutzung von Kommunikationstechnologien wie kollaborativen Tools, den Beziehungen zwischen kulturellen Praktiken und sozialem Leben und den Veränderungen in der Arbeitsweise, die durch die digitale Revolution hervorgerufen wurden. https://www.institutfrancais.com/en/portrait/dominique-cardon

Nathalie Pignard-Cheynel (Université de Neuchâtel)

Nathalie Pignard-Cheynel (Université de Neuchâtel)

Nathalie Pignard-Cheynel ist ordentliche Professorin für Journalismus und digitale Information an der Universität Neuchâtel (UniNE), wo sie die Akademie für Journalismus und Medien (AJM) leitet. Zuvor leitete sie die Journalistenschule in Grenoble und war für den Masterstudiengang Journalismus und digitale Medien an der Universität Lothringen verantwortlich. Ihre Arbeit konzentriert sich auf die Veränderungen journalistischer Praktiken und die Veränderungen in den Redaktionen im digitalen Zeitalter, insbesondere die Nutzung sozialer Netzwerke und mobiler Medien, die Entstehung neuer Nachrichtenformate und die Beteiligung von Internetnutzer*innen am Prozess der Erstellung von Online-Informationen. Sie ist Mitherausgeberin des Buches #info: Commenter et partager l’actualité sur Twitter et Facebook, (2018, Editions de la Maison des sciences de l’homme) und Mitautorin des Buches Journalisme mobile (2019, Editions de Boeck). Sie leitet das (vom SNF finanzierte) Forschungsprojekt LINC - L’information locale à l’épreuve du numérique: repenser les liens entre médias, journalistes et publics (2018-2020).

⇧ Zurück

Organisation

Registrierung

Die Registrierung ist gratis. Nach der erfolgreichen Registrierung wird ein Link zum virtuellen Konferenzraum versendet. Zusätzlich werden wir ein kleines Geschenk per Post verschicken.

Hier geht’s zur online Registrierung.

Ablauf des Pitching und der Auswahl

Am ersten Tag des Anlasses (21. Oktober, um 10:00 Uhr) wird eine pitching session durchgeführt. Hier können Themen vorgeschlagen werden: Bitte erklären Sie kurz und prägnant die Idee Ihres Panels und nennen Sie einen aussagekräftigen Titel. . Sie können Ihren Vorschlag auch bereits im Vorfeld online vorschlagen. Alle online eingegangen Vorschläge werden an der pitching session ebenfalls kurz vorgestellt.

Eine Unkonferenz ist ein offener und freier Raum. Jedes Thema kann vorgeschlagen und diskutiert werden. Vom Datenmanagement zur Forschungsförderung, von Fragen zur Privatsphäre bis zum Einsatz digitaler Methoden in Lehre und Forschung: Alles ist willkommen.

Unsicher, ob das Thema wirklich diskutiert werden soll? Schlagen Sie es vor! Unsicher, ob das Thema in den Bereich der ‘Critique Digitale’ fällt? Schlagen Sie es vor!

Sobald alle Panelvorschläge gesammelt sind, stimmen die Teilnehmer*innen über das Programm ab. Panels mit hoher Zustimmung werden als Slots von 45 Minuten in das Programm aufgenommen. Weitere Informationen über das Abstimmungssystem finden Sie hier.

Das definitive Programm wird anschliessend auf dieser Website veröffentlicht. Den Teilnehmer*innen steht es frei, sich in den verschiedenen virtuellen Räumen zu bewegen und die Panels zu besuchen, für die sie sich interessieren.

Panels

Panels sind 45-minütige Diskussions- und Austauschrunden zu einem bestimmten Thema. Die Person, die das Thema vorgeschlagen hat, moderiert die Diskussionen.

Sprache(N!)

Da die Unkonferenz in der Schweiz stattfindet, einem Land mit vier Amtssprachen, ist es uns ein Anliegen, die Mehrsprachigkeit zu fördern. Wir sind bestrebt, Englisch während der gesamten Veranstaltung als lingua franca zu verwenden, werden aber auch die Teilnehmer*innen ermutigen, ihre eigenen Sprachen oder Englisch zu sprechen.

  • Die Keynotes werden in Französisch (mit Live-Untertiteln in Englisch) und Englisch gehalten.
  • Die Kommunikation im Plenum findet in Englisch statt. In den Pitching-Sitzungen können die Teilnehmer*innen in ihrer eigenen Sprache sprechen, und wir übersetzen live, falls notwendig.
  • In den Panels entscheiden die Moderator*innen über die Sprache und gehen auf die Kompetenzen der Teilnehmer*innen ein.

FAQ

Wer kann und soll teilnehmen ? Diese Veranstaltung ist besonders – aber nicht ausschliesslich – geeignet für Doktorand*innen. Postdocs, wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiter\*innen und Masterstudent\*innen sind ebenfalls willkommen. Es gibt keine Anforderungen an bestimmte Fachgebiete, solange ein Zusammenhang mit der eigenen Arbeit oder dem Studium besteht.
Müssen Abstracts, Papers oder Präsentationen eingereicht werden?

Nein. Als Unkonferenz folgt die ‘Critique Digitale’ nicht einer traditionellen wissenschaftlichen Veranstaltung, sondern funktioniert als offener Raum, in dem die Referent*innen, Organisator*innen und Teilnehmer*innen die Themen auswählen. Dies ist ein kollaborativer Weg, um zu debattieren, Informationen auszutauschen und Wissen aufzubauen.

Wie kann ich mich für BigBlueButton registrieren?
0:00 click anywhere to play / drag to seek ...
Konferenzsoftware und Plattform

Die Konferenz findet auf BigBlueButton (BBB) statt, einer quelloffenen Visio-Konferenzsoftware, die von CH-Open entwickelt wurde, einer schweizerischen Organisation zur Förderung von Open-Source-Software, Online-Datenschutz und offenen Datenstandards. Anleitungen zur Verwendung von BBB finden Sie hier. Die Abstimmung über das Programm findet über die Anwendung mieuxvoter.fr statt. Informationen zum Konzept des Mehrheitsentscheids finden Sie hier

Inhalt und Struktur

Der Inhalt und die Struktur des Tages werden von den Teilnehmer*innen bestimmt. Vgl. zum Beispiel das Konzept des BarCamp.

⇧ Zurück

Digital Criticism

Unconference October 21—22, 2021 📅

Concept

Introduction

Higher education research centres from all over Switzerland are joining forces to host the first unconference on ‘digital criticism’. Free of charge and open to all, this unique event will take place online-only the 21 and 22 October 2021.

After a decade of research on the ‘Digital Turn’ and its impact on both research and society at large, this event aims to offer a space to network, share insights, and discuss future trends in digital studies / digital humanities among scholars from Switzerland and beyond. Join us and register for the event !

Objectives

  • Foster networking within the digital studies / digital humanities research community in Switzerland and beyond
  • Talk and learn about ongoing research (including yours) on digital-related phenomena
  • Identify common challenges across disciplines for future research
  • Discuss the characteristics of digital research methods

What is an unconference?

An unconference is an informal, participant-driven meeting that tries to avoid hierarchical aspects of a conventional conference. The format, which encourages networking, open discussions, and participation, first appeared in the Silicon Valley in the 2000’s as a tool to foster new innovation models. Unconferences contributed to the birth of social media and ‘Web 2.0’.

In concrete terms, the conference unfolds as follows

  1. Register for the conference
  2. In a plenary pitching session on the first day of the conference, participants are invited to come up with ideas and discussion topics
  3. Proposed topics are listed on a whiteboard and opened to a vote by participants
  4. Most voted topics are included as panel slots of 45 min. in the finalised conference programme.
  5. Participants freely decide which panels they want to attend.
⇧ Back up

Programme

The conference programme includes two plenary sessions, three keynotes by leading scholars in the field of digital studies, as well as a series of parallel panel sessions on topics that the participants themselves have proposed and chosen by voting.

October 21
08:45 On-boarding BigBlueButton
Provided by CH-Open
09:30 Introduction by the Organizers &
welcome by Dr. Markus Zürcher
10:00 Pitching-Session
11:00 Grasping the digital world through its uses.
The example of information and journalism
Keynote by Nathalie Pignard Cheynel
Voting in progress
12:00 Presentation of program & lunch break
13:30 Panelslot 1
André Cardozo Sarli: Algorithms as normative tools 📝 Etherpad
Arjun Sanyal: Critical digital literacy in the libraries for persons from different socio-cultural milieux (empowerment) 📝 Etherpad
Victoria Fleury: Combining information from diverse collections and sources. Accessing visualizations 📝 Etherpad
14:15 Break
15:00 Panelslot 2
Enrico Natale: Essential readings on digital criticism 📝 Etherpad
Laetitia Gern: Political discourse online on YouTube 📝 Etherpad
Widmer & Schneider: Premodern data for NLP 📝 Etherpad
15:45 Panelslot 3
Melanie Boehi: Transparency and democratizing archives by digitization 📝 Etherpad
Moritz Mähr: Micropublications (secure research data, do something participant driven, new ways for preprints) 📝 Etherpad
Adrien Tournier: 5G - history of telecommunication 📝 Etherpad
16:30 Break
17:00 What is the Place of History of Computing in Critiques of Computing?
Keynote by Mar Hicks
October 22
08:45
09:30 Welcome Back
10:00 Panelslot 4
Geffroy Valérian: Non-uses of digital technology (unnecessary or unwanted tools) 📝 Etherpad
Elias Kreyenbühl: From papyri to photographs. Doing research with images. 📝 Etherpad
Tobias Hodel: DH Summerschool 📝 Etherpad
11:00 Digital explorations at the Sciences Po medialab
Keynote by Dominique Cardon
12:00 Panelslot 5
Lorenz & Berg: Social Media as a source for research (ethical, technical, legal) 📝 Etherpad
Isabelle Marthot-Santaniello: How much advertising for DH research while doing it? 📝 Etherpad
Jennifer Rabe: Digital Selfcare tools and utilities 📝 Etherpad
break
13:30 Presentations of Results and Outlook
14:15 Round Table and End of Event
15:00
15:45
16:30
17:00

Keynotes

Mar Hicks (Illinois Institute of Technology)

Mar Hicks (Illinois Institute of Technology)

Mar Hicks is an author, historian, and professor doing research on the history of computing, labor, technology, and queer science and technology studies. Her research focuses on how gender and sexuality bring hidden technological dynamics to light, and how the experiences of women and LGBTQIA people change the core narratives of the history of computing in unexpected ways. Hicks’s multiple award-winning book, Programmed Inequality, looks at how the British lost their early lead in computing by discarding women computer workers, and what this cautionary tale tells us about current issues in high tech. Her new work looks at resistance and queerness in the history of technology. She also has a new co-edited book coming out in Spring 2021 from MIT Press called Your Computer Is On Fire, about how we can begin to fix our broken high tech infrastructures. Read more at: marhicks.com.

What is the Place of History of Computing in Critiques of Computing?

This talk looks at the historical connections between computing’s development in the 20th century and issues of marginalization in tech in the 21st century that have been exacerbated by particular computing tools and platforms. Drawing a throughline from the centralizing tendencies of digital technologies in the 20th century to the power imbalances fostered by digital platforms in the 21st century, this talk invites listeners to consider the history of computing’s focus on triumphal “progress narratives” as part of the problem we face when confronting computing’s flaws in the present.

Dominique Cardon (Médialab Sciences Po)

Dominique Cardon (Médialab Sciences Po)

Born in 1965, Dominique Cardon has been a sociologist, researcher, professor and Medialab director at Sciences Po since 2016. A member of the Orange Labs research centre from 1996 to 2016 and an associate professor at the University of Marne la Vallée Technical Laboratory, he defended his thesis ‘The expanded public space. Opinion, Criticism and Expressiveness in the Internet Age’ (« L’espace public élargi. Opinion, critique et expressivité à l’ère d’internet ») in 2015. A former member of the Centre for Social Movement Studies at the EHESS and a member of the editorial committee for the journal ‘Réseaux’, his work and research initially led him to focus on different forms of expression in traditional media. He then went on to study the uses of communication technologies such as collaborative tools, the relationships between cultural practices and social life and the changes in the ways we work brought about by the digital revolution. Homepage

Digital explorations at the Sciences Po medialab

Nathalie Pignard-Cheynel (Université de Neuchâtel)

Nathalie Pignard-Cheynel (Université de Neuchâtel)

Nathalie Pignard-Cheynel is a full professor of journalism and digital communication at the University of Neuchâtel, where she heads the Academy of Journalism and Media. For the past 15 years, she has been studying the mutations of journalistic practices and the changes in newsrooms in the digital age. She also works on the links between journalists, media and audiences, and has recently developed projects on the informational practices of young generation as well as disinformation phenomena. She co-edited in 2018 the book #info: Commenting and sharing news on Twitter and Facebook and co-authored in 2019 Mobile Journalism: Informational Uses Editorial Strategies and Journalistic Practices.

⇧ Back up

Organisation

Registration

Registration is free of charge. Upon registration you will receive a link to access the conference virtual space. Additionally, we will send you a small gift per postal mail as a souvenir.

Please register online here.

Pitching and voting procedures

On the first day of the event (21st of October, 10:00) we will have a pitching session. If you come up with an idea, just raise your hand and we will call you up, so you can explain your idea. Make sure to have a title for your panel at hand. If you already pitched your idea online: great, we will call you up and you can elaborate if you wish.

An unconference is an open space. Every topic is worth considering and discussing. From data management, funding, and privacy to digital methods and tools: everything is welcome.

You don’t know if people want to discuss this? Pitch it! Are you unsure if the topic belongs to ‘digital criticism’? Pitch it!

Once we’ve collected all panel propositions, those will be submitted to a majority vote by all participants. Panels who get more consent will be integrated to the conference programme as panel slots of 45 min. More information about the voting system are to be found here.

The definitive programme will then be published on this website. Participants are then free to move among the various virtual rooms and attend the panels they are interested in.

Panels

Panels are 45-minute discussion and exchange sessions on a given theme. The person who proposed the theme moderates the discussions.

Language(S!)

As we are in Switzerland, a country with four official languages, we are committed to promote plurilingualism. We’re keen to use English throughout the conference as lingua franca, but will also encourage participants to speak their own languages.

  • Keynotes will be in French (with live subtitles in English) and English.
  • Plenary communication will be in English, but in the pitching session people may feel free to speak in their own language and we’ll translate live for those who don’t understand.
  • In the panels, the language mix can vary. Panel moderators should decide how they want to deal with it according to the participants.

FAQ

Who should attend ? This event is especially suitable but not limited to PhD students, in all stages of completion. Postdocs, research staff and master students are also welcome. There are no requirements of specific fields, as long as there is a connection with your work or studies.
Is it necessary to send an abstract, a paper or a presentation?

No. As an unconference, Digital Criticism does not need to follow a traditional scientific event, but rather works as an open space where the presenters, organizers and participants choose the topics. It’s a collaborative way to debate, share information and build knowledge.

How do I register in Big Blue Button?
0:00 click anywhere to play / drag to seek ...
Conference Software and Platform

The conference will take place on BigBlueButton (BBB), an open source visio-conference software developed by CH-Open, a Swiss organisation promoting open source software, online privacy, and open data standards. A manual and tutorials on how to use BBB are available.

Voting on the programme will take place via the application mieuxvoter.fr. Information on the concept of majority judgment can be found here

Content and Structure

The content and structure of the day are driven by the participants. See for instance the concept of BarCamp. We follow the four flow principles:

  • Whoever comes are the right people
  • Whatever happens, is the only thing that could have
  • Whenever it starts is the right time
  • When it’s over, it’s over
⇧ Back up